Melinda R. Cordell

Melinda R. Cordell

Indie Author * Gardening Books * Epic Fantasy


Fia and her dragon with a dagger and there's fire and sparks everywhere, she's out to kick some butt

Dragons, Assassins, Battles, and Dragonriders

Assassin's Blade is the explosive first book of the new Dragonriders of Fiorenza series.

Fia, an enterprising young dragonrider, is being married off against her will. But when her father's kidnapped and her whole world goes up in flames, she turns to the only woman who could save him -- her grandmother, who was once a trained assassin -- to kill the kidnappers and save her father.

Assassin's Blade - Book 1

Dragon's Inferno - Book 2

Guardian's Race - Book 3

Witch's Plight - Book 4

Warrior's Doom - Book 5

Traitor's Oath - Book 6

Skip over to my Dragonriders of Fiorenza page to find out more!

Read excerpts from the story --

The Clay Figure

"Don't Let Them Get Away!"

An Army at the Gates

And here's an excerpt from Guardian's Race!

This is the beginning of Witch's Plight.

Oh yes, and Assassin's Blade is now available in audiobook on Amazon and Audible, narrated by the amazing Galena White. Put this book in your ears!


The Dragonriders of Skala is an updated series!

I am rewriting an old series I published a few years ago and taking my time to make it even better.

THE FLAME OF BATTLE is the first book of the Dragonriders of Skala series.

Dyrfinna and her sword-friends only want to mourn their friend Thora, the Queen's daughter, after she died after visiting her husband-to-be, King Varinn. But when, after her burial, Thora walks into the banquet hall and starts killing men, all Hel breaks loose. Only Dyrfinna is able to return her dead friend to her eternal rest – but not before hearing a terrifying story from her lips.

The only recourse for this awful deed is revenge. Dyrfinna is more than ready.

But there's more at stake than Dyrfinna dreams of. A dragon saves her life and hints at a war to come that's greater than the one they're about to plunge into. Fate follows in the wake of these warriors.

Set in a new, Norse-inspired world, and packed with magic, adventure, and dragons, THE FLAME OF BATTLE begins an epic new fantasy saga from Melinda R. Cordell.

And here is book 2 -- A BLAZE OF VALKYRIES.

Book 3 will be available in December 2022 -- A GLORY OF SPARKS, all about an epic war that turns into something a lot bigger than anybody bargained for.

Read all about the Dragonriders of Skala here!

Butterfly Chaos is probably my best book (so far)

Butterfly Chaos is available on Amazon and most online retailers.

Three months after her cousin Toni died, Cassie is still reeling. Toni’s best friend now ignores her in the halls. Cassie’s cousin is dating the girl who torments her in gym. And Cassie has maybe a teeny-tiny crush on the boy who pulled Toni’s body out of the river.

Then Toni’s ghost visits Cassie and reveals that in two nights, a powerful EF3 tornado will rip into a dance hall, killing those three kids.

Cassie sets out to keep everyone from going to the dance. As she argues and cajoles (and stockpiles illegal munitions to clear the building) she uncovers stories about her friends’ connections with Toni – and all the reasons they refuse to skip this awesome dance. Why does everyone have to be so bullheaded! Despite everything Cassie does to change their destiny, they find themselves directly in the killer tornado’s path....

Fans of Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt, Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu, or choice-driven games like Life is Strange will love this book.

Eleven books in the Easy-Growing Gardening series

I worked over half my life in horticulture -- but now I work inside in the air-conditioning. You cannot believe how much I love AC. (It's been 95 degrees all week, with a relative humidity of 95%. I'm very happy to work inside, believe me.)

But I still miss my plants and roses, so I've been writing book after book to pass along everything I've learned so far, and people really seem to appreciate reading books from somebody who has actually spent time in a garden. I don't blame them; I'm the same way about gardening books.

 Leave Me A Lawn, and is the seventh book in the Easy-Growing Gardening series. I love writing these books and coming up with bad puns for the titles.

The eighth book is Japanese Beetles and Grubs, and I've dug through archives and scientific writings to find the best control methods for these destructive beetles. The ninth book is Stay Grounded, and the motto of this book is "Feed the soil and the soil will feed you."

The tenth book is called Genius Gardening  Hacks. So watch this space, there will be more ....

Find all my Easy-Growing series here!


Vegetable gardening book

Subscribe to my Newsletter

Every week I offer free books, 99 cent deals, an occasional free audiobook, and general book news from my part of the world.

Back to Top